The Bizarre Cricket Dismissal Which Has Umpires And Physicists Totally Stumped


Last weekend, on a cricket field in suburban Melbourne,
something very strange happened.

In a Mid Year Cricket Association match between Moonee Valley
and Strathmore Heights, a batsman was bowled and the stumps
ended up looking like this.

Which was obviously very cool because of the sheer
improbability of the bails being suspended with the middle
stump out of the ground.

Initial reactions of players were summed up by these lines from
Moonee Valley captain Michael Ozbun in local paper the Moonee Valley Leader:

“There was a little bit of debate and the umpire was a bit
confused as well. Nobody had seen anything like that before.
I was on the boundary, I saw the stumps fly and thought ‘all
right, he got bowled, it was a silly shot’.

Then everybody was standing around the wickets and I didn’t
know why. I went out there, saw what was going on and it was
very confusing.”

Which didn’t really explain how two bails can suspend
themselves without the support of a middle stump, but it did at
least capture the general WTF mood.

The really pressing issue was this: was it out?

After all, everybody knows that the bails must be removed for a
batsman to be out bowled. But is that really how it works? Ah,
well a closer inspection of the Laws of Cricket shows that there’s more to it than
that.

To be out bowled (or run out, or stumped), the stumps must be
“put down”, which sounds like a humane way to end a stump’s
life, but which, according to Law 28, means:

“A wicket is put down if a bail is completely removed from
the top of the stumps, or a stump is struck out of
the grounds
by the ball, the striker’s bat, the
striker’s person (or by any part of his clothing or equipment
becoming detached from his person), a fielder (with his hand
or arm, and provided that the ball is held in the hand or
hands so used, or in the hand of the arm so used).

See the bit we bolded? Yep, if the stump comes out of the
ground, you’re out — regardless of what the bails do. So we
can tell you without fear that the umpire got it right when he
dismissed batsman Jatinder Singh.

As for how the bails actually stayed on, we might need a
scientist to explain what happened. In fact we just asked one.
Keep ya posted. Meanwhile here’s what one helpful person had to
say.

@inst




Like it? Share with your friends!

31.8k SHARES
31.8k SHARES

Your reaction

NICE
SAD
FUNNY
OMG
WTF
WOW

React with gif

Comments 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Bizarre Cricket Dismissal Which Has Umpires And Physicists Totally Stumped

Note: Your password will be generated automatically and sent to your email address.

Forgot Your Password?

Enter your email address and we'll send you a link you can use to pick a new password.

log in

Become a part of our community!
Don't have an account?
sign up

reset password

Back to
log in

sign up

Join My Viral Wall Community

Back to
log in

Choose post type

News Image List Poll Quiz Video Audio
Choose A Format
Poll
Story
List
Meme
Video
Image